Jay-Z becomes the first rapper inducted into Songwriters Hall of Fame after 48 years!!!!!!

In a bid to honor any artist whose work represents a spectrum of the most beloved songs from the world’s popular music songbook, the Songwriters Hall of Fame was established in 1969, by songwriter Johnny Mercer and publishers Abe Olman and Howie Richmond.
This has since then become a leading destination for music industry professionals and researchers, along with popular music fans.

A handful of artists who are considered to have "enriched the world's culture" with their songwriting and music are selected for induction every year.
Joining the hall of fame is a huge deal - previous inductees include Marvin Gaye, Bob Dylan, Dolly Parton, Bruce Springsteen and Michael Jackson.
But no rapper has ever made the cut before.

Less than a month after it was announced he and his wife Beyonce are expecting twins - he is to receive a top songwriting honour.
Jay-Z is to become the first rapper ever inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame in the US.

Also being inducted this year alongside Jay-Z are hit maker Max Martin who has written songs for Taylor Swift, Katy Perry and Ariana Grande, Motown founder Berry Gordy, Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis; The duo have written and produced number one singles for Janet Jackson, Mariah Carey and Usher, among many others and Kenneth “Babyface” Edmonds. Three members of Chicago - Robert Lamm, James Pankow and Peter Cetera - as well as Motown founder Berry Gordy, who deferred his induction in 2016, will also be inducted

Songwriters are eligible for induction after writing hit tracks for at least 20 years.
This explains why Jay-Z is being inducted now - as he recently passed the 20th anniversary of his debut album Reasonable Doubt, released in 1996.

When asked why it took so long to recognize a rapper, Chic guitarist Nile Rodgers, who was one of last year's inductees, said Jay-Z had "changed the way we listen to music".,

Songwriting Hall nominees who did not move on to induction include the late George Michael, Madonna, Bryan Adams, Vince Gill, Kool & the Gang and Gloria Estefan.

Only five songwriters, or songwriting groups, are inducted each year.

The organization’s 48th Annual Induction and Awards Dinner takes place June 15 in New York.
Share on Google Plus

About Mimi


Post a Comment